jack’s-blog@BartonsWay.com

Faneuil Hall “Sunrise” HD Edit

Posted in HD Cinema by Barton's Way Media on January 11, 2009

Vodpod videos no longer available.

One of the best ways to showcase a familiar place is to take people to a moment in time of that place in which they have never been before. That is why getting out and on location at the crack of dawn gives you the opportunity to get shots, natural lighting, and visuals (more…)

Vario Shutter

Posted in 5D Mark2, Jack Brumm, Photo by Barton's Way Media on January 11, 2009

vario-shutter-1226

vario-shutter-1226-2

I’ve been googling the inter-web trying to find out information about this camera. My grandfather, who carried this camera with Patton’s Army in the battle of the bulge, passed away before I got bitten by the camera bug. As the family’s only professional photographer I inherited this camera by default. (more…)

Philip Bloom » Blog Archive » Zacuto’s “Filmfellas” series Part 1

Posted in HD Cinema, Jack Brumm by Barton's Way Media on January 11, 2009

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Phil is a director of photography, cinematographer, producer, editor, and hotter than a firecracker when it comes to gear reviews. The guys is all over the web, and his opinion sells gear. The guys at Zacuto are doing some really great stuff too. Zacuto, located in Chi-town, makes, sells and rents camera accessories. They also promote the growth of the industry while demonstrating the benefits of their gear by doing projects like the one posted here. It’s a very subtle “journalistic” approach to advertising. They use the web to sell, and they are doing a good job if it. Here some of the guys from Zacuto talk with Phil about screen release versus web release. Well worth the watch. -Jack

Matt likes to climb. Alot.

Posted in Jack Brumm, Photo by Barton's Way Media on January 11, 2009

720x720-matt-climbn

The youngest is a bit of a spider monkey. He’d stay up longer but his feet start slipping. I took these during a snow day 1-7-09. Canon 5D2 70-200 f2.8 all natural light. During the snow day Matt wanted to do some climbing, and I told him that I’d get some pictures of it. So I grabbed a camera, a flash, and a ladder. (more…)

A Little Downhill Action in the Front Yard

Posted in Jack Brumm, Photo by Barton's Way Media on January 11, 2009

kids-sled-6-up

I created this montage after a couple of snaps in the front yard. The snow plow guys sort of busted up the party. Canon 1D Mark IIn with 300 f2.8 over exposed a stop for the snow. -Jack

Timeline of Video Cameras I’ve Worked With

Posted in HD Cinema, Photo by Barton's Way Media on January 11, 2009

videocameraprogress1This is a brief history of some of the video cameras I’ve mainly worked with throughout my cinematography career.  The first camera I used to make a production was the Sony TRV 78 Hi-8 camera that I brought on board pro inline skater Chris Edwards’ nationwide “Birth Tour”.   (more…)

Ziess Ikon Contaflex Family Pix Collage

Posted in Jack Brumm, Photo by Barton's Way Media on January 11, 2009

jwb-ziess-after-6up Scanned with an HP Officejet all-in-one and processed in Lightroom. Me, my sis, my dog, and some awesome get ups. I’m pretty sure my mom made 3 out of the 5 outfits that I’m wearing in these shots. I wonder if that sailor look will come back anytime soon? It looks like I hadn’t been given the “keep your eye on the ball” instruction previous to the “action shot” of my early golf swing. -Jack

Hey, Not a picture of a Camera

Posted in 5D Mark2, Jack Brumm, Photo by Barton's Way Media on January 11, 2009

nitesnowontrees-1221

I should have HDR’d this. Shot this around 8:30PM EST when it first started snowing. The forecast for tonite is 6-12 inches of snow, then it’s suppose to turn bitter cold for the fore-see-able future. 5D2 24-70 f2.8 -Jack