jack’s-blog@BartonsWay.com

Official first update via iPhone

Posted in iPhone Photo by Barton's Way Media on January 10, 2009

I wanted to see if it was possible to update this wordpress blog via iPhone. I will even try to embed a photo I’ve taken on my iphone. This is my first attempt. -Hakeem

Two Mini LED Lights…

Posted in 5D Mark2, Jack Brumm, Photo by Barton's Way Media on January 10, 2009

1d-series-setup-1154

…are better than one. I have a sony LED video light, that I have been using with stills and video. It’s a great little fill light. It’s kind of hard to see but it’s the light in the upper right of the picture above. It’s shining down on the little mini LED flash light that I have been fooling around with. Now that I am going to be doing more motion work, (more…)

1960’s versus the 2000’s – Escaping memory lane.

Posted in 5D Mark2, Jack Brumm, Photo by Barton's Way Media on January 10, 2009

00s-v-60s-1197 Single Lens Reflect (SLR) photography sure has come a long way in the last 40 years. For example notice the wireless transfer module attached to the Canon 1D MarkIII, (the camera on the right in the photo above).  That module allows me to automatically capture images (more…)

First Canon 5D MkII HD Video Test

Posted in 5D Mark2, HD Cinema, Testing by Barton's Way Media on January 10, 2009

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Within minutes of receiving his first Canon 5D MkII, Jack shot and I edited this short test piece off my porch. From Start to finish the entire process took about 15 – 20 minutes. The 5D to Final Cut Pro work flow is rather efficient, in fact Jack would continue to shoot while I edited, allowing for (more…)

Mini LED Flashlight Shot

Posted in 5D Mark2, Jack Brumm, Photo by Barton's Way Media on January 10, 2009

led-setup-1128

This is all the light I used to get the shot of the Canon 1D MkIII and the 24-105 f4. I took the shot above with a 5d MkII and an 85 f1.2. I probably shot it at f2, 3200 iso, 250/sec. Processed in LR. The noise, or should I say lack of noise, in this hand held shot in a dark studio is remarkable. Unbelieveable! -Jack

Had to try it. Canon 1D Mark III with 24-105 f4 IS

Posted in 5D Mark2, Jack Brumm, Photo by Barton's Way Media on January 10, 2009

camera-with-lens-reflection-1107

I didn’t completely give up on the LED for fill idea with the camera shots. I snapped this yesterday. I’ll post up a setup shot in a bit. Shot with 5D2, converted and finished in LightRoom. Learn way more about LED light than you’ll ever want to know here. -Jack